top of page

Theatre for Dummies: A Helpful Guide For First-Timers to a Play🎭

Updated: Jun 16, 2022

Back in high school, we used to have actors come to perform our English and Swahili set books to enhance our understanding of them. However, in the last week of April, I was thrilled to attend my first ever play in an actual theatre😄. The play, titled 'Ngaahika Ngeenda' (I Will Marry When I Want💅🏾) by the celebrated writer and playwright Ngugi wa Thiong'o and fellow writer Ngugi wa Miiri, was performed by thespians from the Nairobi Performing Arts Studio in the Kenya National Theatre. It was a historical moment as that performance was the first time it was ever performed almost 45 years since it was banned by Kenyatta's government.


Attending that play was a dream come true for me✨. Throughout my high school years, I envisioned myself joining or at least celebrating the local art scene by attending plays whenever possible, especially during my campus years. 'My Network', a Friday pullout of the Daily Nation which focuses on twenty-somethings pursuing higher education and seeking to grow career-wise, heavily influenced how I would like my twenties to be like🌟. I was glad to be finally living out that dream. That desire, coupled with my curiosity of wanting to know what possibly could have warranted the unlawful arrest of Ngugi (wa Thiong'o), made me purchase an early bird ticket to the live show🎟.


I have a couple of blog post ideas surrounding this play which might be coming soon👀, but I wanted this blog post to be what I needed to read before I attended the play. Yes, these are tips for newbies to theatres and you are welcome😁. I intentionally failed to Google some tips to garner some experience which would help me write this for you🙈. Without further ado, here they are.



1. Aim for early bird tickets👀


A group of friends holding out their event tickets in a circle.
Courtesy: unsplash.com

Nope, they aren't for the rich😂.


You didn't sneeze but I just ✨blessed✨ you with yet another financial tip (read more of them here if you missed that blog post) - go for early bird tickets🎟! Also known as advance tickets, they help one save a lot of money as compared to those who buy their tickets at the gate. Most people tend to miss purchasing them because most of the time, the money hasn't added up yet😓. The only way to ensure that you can afford advance tickets would be to have savings which are readily accessible💰. Another benefit of going for early bird tickets would be having 100% assurance of not missing out on the action you signed up for😊. Also, you won't have to worry about tickets getting sold out🥵.


An extra tip would be to take advantage of one's status of being a student. That helped me afford this experience😁. The regular tickets were going for Ksh. 1,300/= while those for students were Ksh. 500/=. What a huge difference😎.


2. Get to the theatre early enough

A theatre in Chicago, bright with red and whit lights.
Courtesy: unsplash.com

This was a lesson learnt the hard way. Yes, I ran a little late and made it to the theatre half an hour past the time the play was supposed to start💀. I must admit that it is pretty distasteful to run late because it often insinuates that the person has no regard for the other person's time🙄. However, I am hardly late to class or events, and this was just but a mishap💁🏾‍♀️.


I did leave the house at the time I had planned to, but I had underestimated the traffic that I usually encounter when entering the CBD. A huge chunk of my time was wasted there and I was forced to walk quickly to uptown in a pair of heels (😫) and later on part with Ksh. 150/= to get me to the theatre fast enough. You know how I feel about unnecessary spending😢. Anyway, I forgave myself (had to!) and luckily enough, made it to the theatre to find the play just about to start😄!


So, I did make some losses:

  • I parted with money to have a motorbike take me to the venue☹

  • Although I had a reserved seat, I had to sit at the back because I found it slightly embarrassing to go looking for my seat when the play was right about to start🤪

  • The hustle and bustle of trying to make it to the venue robbed me of the chance to have a slow morning and a moment to really appreciate being there at the beginning😕.

Depending on where you are from and if there's any traffic to expect, just get out of the house with a big enough time allowance because one just never knows😶. Other than that, it gives one some mental clarity and peace of mind, knowing that your only business is to sit back, relax and watch a play that you've been excited about😊. It also saves you money, take it from me😪!


3. Reserve the best seats ahead of the play

A row of seats in a theatre.
Courtesy: unsplash.com

Before buying the ticket, I didn't know that one had the option of picking where one would like to sit. When asked about which part of the auditorium I wanted to sit, I had no clue about which spot I would like😂. This was the only thing I Googled to secure the best experience for myself (which I did a pretty good job in😇).


I would have shared the best seats (specifically for this theatre) for one to book, but I feel like I'm too much of a rookie to dispense that kind of information. I did pick the middle auditorium because I likened my classroom experience to the situation: not being comfortable with front row seats, not liking the back row seats and just enjoying the comfort that comes with being in the middle row. What I do know, however, is that the back auditorium seats are best for tall people. I was lucky😃!


I promise that I will update this blog post once I sample all the positions at the Kenya National Theatre. Hopefully, you will find it worth the wait❤.


4. Don't use your phone


An old man in an audience using his phone in the dark.
Courtesy: unsplash.com

Initially, I was intending to take pictures of the actors performing live for the blog but I wasn't seated at the right spot. I eventually gave up. What I do admit is that it was difficult to fully be in the moment whilst recording (or trying to record) the actors every time they burst into song. Looking back, I am glad that I couldn't take quality photos and videos😅. I was really in the moment during the whole performance, and I kind of figured that even if I do love my blog, some things can take a back seat, you know? Free stock photos exist on the internet for a reason, after all❤.


Apart from taking away your attention from the show, I figured that the actors on stage can spot a member of the audience when they are on their phones👀. The light from your phone screen could make you easily spotted and truthfully, that isn't a good look. It gives "I don't value what these actors are doing on stage" and that's pretty rude🙄. If you have to use your phone, use it during breaks or quietly walk out of the theatre to do so.


5. Plan for where you are going to snack at


A table with comfort food spread out.
Courtesy: unsplash.com

This depends on when your play is scheduled to start. Mine was at eleven a.m., meaning that I had to at least know where I could have a little snack to keep me full until when I got home. I planned to have my lunch at home but I was already hungry during the play! After the play ended, I did a quick survey (trust me, it was quick😂) and I had three options: Hotel Fairmount The Norfolk, the Wasanii Restaurant right above the theatre itself or the Big Knife Restaurant, a Turkish restaurant across the footbridge far ahead.


The first one was definitely out, and I wasn't sure about the remaining two. Frankly, I was scared to check out the Wasanii Restaurant😅. However, I knew that the Big Knife was affordable despite having never tried that restaurant out. Well, I didn't try it out either because I knew I could get cheaper options in town (as low as Ksh. 100/=). I'm not cheap, it's just that sometimes, some things aren't worth it (especially if they are way out of budget).



In a nutshell, this is the blog post I would refer anyone to if they've never been to a play at the Kenya National Theatre and wanted to go see one. It was a pleasure being a Guinea pig for the sake of those who'll need this😚. If this helped you, kindly share it with those you think will need it, and maybe tell me about it😊. If you would like to show appreciation for what I do, you could buy me a Ko-Fi here.








bottom of page