top of page

Back to School Anxiety?

Updated: Jun 12, 2022

Happy new year!


My year officially started today (10th January) because it is also my official first day of school. I'm officially in my third year of study. Congratulations to me!



Although I am happy, I cannot ignore the fact that I feel a little anxious about going back to school.


Well, at least I did before sitting down to write this.


Mine is just a case of mild anxiety - the normal kind to experience every once in a while. However, you probably should let a medical professional diagnose you before you self-diagnose or assume that you have an anxiety disorder.


Over the holidays, I had been avoiding thinking about going back to school because, despite appreciating the blessing to be able to attend one, it didn't feel good. Several events I experienced in 2021 had made me dread schooling just a little. I should probably add that my semesters normally run back to back, giving me little time to catch my breath. It was a wild year, and I was honestly tired of it all.


Maybe it was the holiday spirit or that feeling that comes with the new year that makes you feel invincible and ready for whatever life has for you in the coming year. I felt better...until it dawned on me that school was a week away. That feeling...I was so crest-fallen thinking that my spirit had been broken and nothing would ever change. That was the case until I started writing about that particular experience, which required me to figure out solutions to beat it, and here I am feeling better about my situation after taking my advice.


I hope it works for you as it has worked for me.


Managing your school-related anxiety

  1. Planning for school

Plan for what you have control over.

Naturally, I tend to plan and create lists to keep me organized since that's the only way I can function. I know that planning isn't something that comes naturally to some and that is fine. One can always learn.


The benefit of getting ready for school early enough (maybe a week prior before reopening) would be that it builds your confidence and suppresses anxiety. The intention is not to try to have complete control over every single aspect of your semester (ever heard of the saying 'man plans, God laughs?). Rather, it is just to do what you can in the best possible way as you hope for the best possible outcome.


You could use this time to:

  • purchase and organize your stationery

  • empty your wardrobe and try styling your outfits differently

  • familiarize yourself with your timetable and school calendar

  • plan your meals

  • build your routine around your school schedule

The last point is particularly important. Going with the assumption that you're a full-time student, the school takes up a lot of your time. After school, your job will take up most of your time. Over time, I have come to learn that you deserve to live your life despite all that. There might never be the perfect time to do what you wish to do, you might as well create time to fulfil your desires and wishes.




2. Learning self-soothing techniques


Self-soothe is to comfort yourself when faced with situations or issues that cause unpleasant emotions. You may have people who deeply care about you, but they cannot be there for you all the time. This is where self-soothing comes in because apart from your support system, you should also be the person you can turn to for some comfort and love.


I'd say that some of my self-soothing techniques are colouring, crying, listening to music and...cleaning.




3. Doing things that you actually like


It's easy - doing these activities bring you joy and distracts you from your moments of anxiety. I know that money buys a ton of fun (money can buy my happiness!). I can't mention any fun activity that is free of any cost, lol.

This is a little off-topic but have you noticed how much progression has occurred that you pay for absolutely everything? Well, it is a good thing because creatives are now getting paid for their hard work. Before you think I'm cheap, there was time piracy was the norm. It isn't right, but it was a normalized thing. So...are movie guys still in business though?


At this point, I think radio is the only free thing we have left.


However, I'm sure that I may not be exposed to activities that promise fun at zero costs. I'll just keep looking.




4. Add something new that is fun and exciting to your daily routine


I'm not the type to get tired of my routine easily, but trying something new is like a breath of fresh air. When in session, huge chunks of my time go into school, especially with commuting. To make the routine less boring, I tried changing my transportation means (it saved me fare by half!). While in school, I tend to snack in different areas just to have a change of scenery and I try my hand at phone photography.


Change is the spice of life. Try it sometime.




5. Purposing to set the tone for your day


In a nutshell, it has everything to do with your mindset, which is everything.


The notion that everything you think will manifest itself into existence is true. Indeed, I have read 'The Secret to Teen Power' and that was the central message of that book. Gosh, this reminds me of this looooooong John C. Maxwell quote my deputy principal back in high school used to croon. Well, she was right. Because of this, I try and think good thoughts about how my school time will be okay, and how I will weather anything that comes my way.


You have control over your life. Always remember that.


 

After taking my advice, I feel pretty okay and ready for the school year. I'm not 100pc anxiety free because I expect some lows in the journey (insert CAT season, semester papers and unavoidable clashes here and there), but I think I can refer to this piece when I need to. I bet I'll do.


Have a great school year.



Would you like to express appreciation for what I do? You can buy me a Ko-Fi here.


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page